Uninstalling JAVA Console Add-on

Posted: Saturday, April 24, 2010 by El Guru in Add-ons, Firefox, Fx 3.6, Tips & Tweaks

JAVA seems to be a popular topic lately on this here blog. So here is another Firefox and JAVA related post for your reading pleasure.

Yesterday I was helping a family member at their home with an odd issue with their Firefox 3.6 install on Windows 7. It seems they had several versions of the JAVA Console add-on installed and they could not uninstall them (‘uninstall’ button was greyed out). I am not even really sure what this extension is suppose to since I did not have this add-on installed. From what I have read it is suppose to open the JAVA Console from within Firefox. Yet, on their machine however, it did nothing.

First thing I did was have them check their JAVA install and saw they were running Update 6 Release 19, so I had them update their JAVA to Release 20. I thought may be a JAVA update would also auto-magically do some housekeeping as well in Firefox. Upon restarting Firefox we discovered that not only did doing update not remove the older versions, but they now had a another JAVA Console extension installed.

The next thing we tried was to have Firefox rebuild the extensions list using the method described in the Wiki article: Troubleshooting Add-ons installation. After restarting Firefox we discovered that did not work either and now all the JAVA Console extensions were active. I had them disable all but the most recent again and restart Firefox again. In retrospect, I figured out earlier today why the said method did not work. That method is used when an extension fails to completely install or uninstall. In this case the extensions were completely installed, but could not be uninstalled.

At that point I let them know I was going to have to do more research on this. Once I got home I looked around and discovered this was a common issue. Further, I also learned unless you are JAVA developer, there is really no reason to have this extension (much like the JAVA Development Toolkit Plug-in). I found the thread Question about Java and Firefox on DSL Reports.com which provided a couple additional options:

  1. On Windows Vista and Windows 7, you run Firefox as ‘Administrator’ (right-click on the Firefox shortcut and select Run As Administrator). Then the uninstall button should be active.
  2. Removing the JAVA Console extension(s) manually from within extensions folder in the Firefox install (NOT profile) folder. In most cases on Windows this is going to be C:\Mozilla Firefox\extensions. With Firefox not running, delete the folders which begin with {CAFEEFAC . . . . } from within this folder and then restart Firefox.

So, I emailed them this info and got a reply later that evening saying that by deleting those folders and restarting Firefox, all of the JAVA Console extensions. I replied back asking ‘what happen when they tried to run Firefox as Administrator?’ Turns out when they did this, none of the extensions were there (including the 3 they had installed and using).

So, it seems that option #2 did the trick. Still not sure how they managed to get the extensions installed in the first place. May be with Windows 7 when you install JAVA it adds the JAVA Console extension into Firefox. May be not, but that is the only thing I can conclude. One neat thing that did come out of all of this, was I discovered how to Locate Your Profile Folder Easily in Firefox 3.6.

Comments
  1. […] did however have no effect on the two extensions that were installed in Firefox.A post at the Firefox Extension’s Guru blog brought the solution. Windows users who run Firefox as an administrator will have the […]

  2. Rick says:

    One of the first things I do when I see multiple Java extensions is check Add/Remove Programs and uninstall all the old versions of Java (if they are there). This can remove the old stuff from Firefox (IE, Opera), but frees up disk space too.

  3. […] post at the Firefox Extension’s Guru blog brought the solution. Windows users who run Firefox as an administrator will have the […]

  4. […] Fuente: Firefox Extension Guru’s Blog [en]. […]

  5. Noah says:

    Updating Java (while leaving old versions of Java still installed, and not first uninstalling them) will always leave the old versions of Java behind. Including the annoying Java Console extensions.

    I heard they do this so you can have a fallback to your old Java in case something goes wrong with the install of the new version.

    So updating Java never uninstalls past Java installations. Ever.

    A smart guy decided to address that problem by creating JavaRa.

    JavaRa cleans up older or redundant versions of the Java Runtime Environment (JRE) that might be littering up your PC, and can optionally update you to the latest version of Java.

    Blog post:
    http://lifehacker.com/5513669/javara-updates-and-removes-old-and-redundant-java-versions

    Main JavaRa site:
    http://raproducts.org/

  6. rgaye says:

    I have had the same problem with old Java console. I have only 6.0.18 enabled (yes I need to upgrade and will) however I have 6.3.11, .13, .15, .16, .17 disabled. I looked in the extensions folder and there were no files/folders which started with {CAFEEFAC… Additionally if I go to uninstall programs only Java 6.0.18 is listed.

    I’m running Vista Home premium 64bit, Firefox 3.6.3.

    I don’t know what if any kind of problem these old addon’s cause but I would like to get rid of them.

  7. HELP says:

    I disabled the latest java console 6.0.13 and now Firefox WON’T EVEN START! Can you HELP ME PLEASE? I have since dl’d an old version of FFx uninstalled and redownloaded the latest & problem persists: FIREFOX REFUSES TO START! HELP! I have all the CAFEFFACS folders but I’m afraid if I removed them it will further screw up my internet: already I cannot open ANY OF MY GAMES AND THE “RUN” black pop up (when you type run in Start) WON’T EVEN START EITHER! IT JUST FLASHES!!!!!!!! Please help I’m behind schedule here.

  8. HELP says:

    PS: when I go to java.com and click download I get this: Verified Java Version
    Congratulations! You have the recommended Java installed (Version 6 Update 20).
    :-( What do I do now? Yes I have restarted my computer many times, problem persists.

  9. […] post at the Firefox Extension’s Guru blog brought the solution. Windows users who run Firefox as an administrator will have the […]

  10. Alex says:

    Followed your directions to the letter (step 2 since the disable/uninstall buttons were active):

    “Removing the JAVA Console extension(s) manually from within extensions folder in the Firefox install (NOT profile) folder. In most cases on Windows this is going to be C:\Mozilla Firefox\extensions. With Firefox not running, delete the folders which begin with {CAFEEFAC . . . . } from within this folder and then restart Firefox.”

    and it worked PERFECTLY! thank you for the info; I hate things installing without my knowledge.

  11. Really great article! Honest..

  12. Erik says:

    Great article – FINALLY got rid of the Java Console by running as Administrator.

    Thanks!

  13. mlocker says:

    Thank you for help. ^^”

  14. Rob says:

    To fix Java: http://forums.whatthetech.com/Java_Setup_Problem_t104537.html

    * Un-Install ALL previous version.
    * Download the current version of Java here: http://java.com/en/download/manual.jsp .
    * Copy the following text to a Batch File and run it (as Admin under Win7).
    * Install Java.

    reg query hklm\software\classes\installer\products /f “java(tm) 6” /s | find “HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE” > deljava.txt
    for /f “tokens=* delims= ” %%a in (deljava.txt) do reg delete %%a /f
    del deljava.txt
    reg delete “HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\JavaSoft\Java Runtime Environment” /f
    reg delete “HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\wow6432node\JavaSoft\Java Runtime Environment” /f

    Rob

  15. Sam says:

    Thanks for this! Those extra Java Consoles were driving me nuts!

  16. Sean says:

    There is an easier way to do this, you just right click on the Firefox icon on your desktop, then you click, ‘run as administrator.’ When Firefox starts up again and you go to, ‘Tools,’ then, ‘Add-ons,’ you will now see that you are able to unistall older versions of Java console, in my case I uninstalled version 6.0.22 and kept 6.0.23, simple.

  17. Sean says:

    Oops I didn’t read the article fully, I see that is option 1, oh well.

  18. […] 10 Posts Uninstalling JAVA Console Add-onAdobe Acrobat vs Foxit ReaderManaging Cookies with Firefox 3.5YouTube: Auto Buffer and Stop […]

  19. aod says:

    Thank you for help.

Leave a Reply

