Sound Fixed but New Issue

Posted: Monday, May 28, 2007 by El Guru in Firefox, Fx 2.0, Ubuntu

First has anyone else ran into troubles with Fx 2.0.0.3 and the upgrade Linux Kernel?  My Fx keeps crashing after a couple minutes running in the new Kernel.  I was able to reboot into the old Kernel and it works fine.  I know there has been some issues with video cards on the new Kernel but those were at boot up.  I can boot into the new Kernel but when I use Fx it becomes unresponsive after a few minutes and then will come back for may be 10-20 seconds for going unresponsive again.

Now the sound issue has drove me batty but I got it figured out.  If boot fresh (machine powered off) into Ubuntu I have sound.  If reboot (without a shutdown) I won’t have sound when I come back in.  I have even tried installing (now since removed) Pulse Audio (had issues with that as well, but that was also with the new Kernel).  I also removed the asound.conf file I had created (never had one prior).  I don’t quite understand what is causing me not to have sound when I reboot but this method/fix seems to be working.

Leave a Reply

